Scribbler

By scribbler

Journal: "I want to do more!"

The magazine photo of Cynthia Ozick that appeared in yesterday's blip has been incorporated into my journal.

One thing I love about keeping a journal, as I've done for more than forty years (a Biblical amount!) is that the process keeps unfolding like a road to the distant mountains. The view keeps changing. 

In a section in my computer journal called "Road Map" I keep quotes that I encounter in my reading, listening, and sometimes viewing. I rarely say why I collected a particular quotation, why it's meaningful to me.

I've begun putting these quotes into my handwritten journal. In previous times I collaged in pictures and cartoons, often altering them to make them self-portraits. Now I'm focusing more on words, possibly influenced by a wonderful Portland Art Museum show of Sister Corita Kent prints. 

It's a bend in the road. A new scene comes into view. I peer ahead, wondering where the road will take me next.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.