Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Memories of Christmas past

We have always enjoyed family get togethers at Christmas. These days it's our children and Diana's sister's family and back then it was my family and my mum's sister Eileen's family. There's a rather nice familiarity about that, history repeating itself or traditions being continued. Mind you in those days the adults ate first and only when they were finished did we children eat - neither the dining room or dining table were  big enough in those days and I guess we made quite a mess so the running order was quite sensible.

Memories of those days:

- Rotating hosting duties, for Christmas day and boxing day each year
- Grandma's home made ginger wine
- Grandma's mice pies, some with a pastry top, others open and iced (my favourite)
- Uncle Les, he always made me laugh
- Keith, the cousin I always looked up to
- The year I got a pump action gun that fired table tennis balls. What boy didn't like a toy gun

Ooh, and just look at those curtains!

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.