Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Wiring done, laying out Craig

Today I took a break from wiring etc and re-laid out Craig.  I wanted to see where the streets would land so that I could install the roadbed between the rails for the crossings. Then when I paint the rails I will also paint that.

As well, I placed the various structures I have for Craig. As you can see, most are not built as yet - YEA. For the trackside structures, I will add a 1/8" piece of foamcore beneath them to raise them up the track level - so that the freight cars' doors and platforms line up with the structure loading doors.  No one but me would notice - but I do.  Also, the grain elevator at the right end has a covered spot on the siding for unloading.  If I did not raise the building 1/8" the clearance would be very close.  Same with the little engine house.

I have been collecting structure kits for a long time - probably 20 years.  Many are out of production. 

One problem I did find wiring.  Two turnout motors were worn out and would not work with the lower voltage my Switch8 board provided.  So I de-installed them and ordered two new motors. No biggie.  After all, the motors are probably almost 30 years old!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.