I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

Is It Spring Already?

The American Robin is suppose to be the harbinger of spring, so when I started seeing a lot of them yesterday, I began to doubt what the calendar was saying.

The last two days have brought over a dozen young robins to the yard and trees. I looked up their habits and found that they will winter here but normally roost in groups. I think that the moisture has brought them to the yards with the promise of earthworms poking their heads out, ready to be consumed.

As I was standing at the gate, steadying my lens, the hummingbirds were buzzing by my head. Could it be they were attracted to the purple robe I was wearing?

I am grateful for the sights and sounds of spring, even though it is far away.

P.S. The extra is one of these lovelies from yesterday in the yard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.