Suki

Susan "Suki" Murphy Thomas

October 31, 1954 - December 22, 2016

My sister died yesterday afternoon.  For years she suffered from diabetes, which she really didn’t manage well, and sadly because of that, she was plagued with all manner of other awful conditions brought on by that wretched disease.  Her life was a tempestuous and turbulent one, but I think she was happy until the last few years made things so difficult for her.  She was a talented artist, and an extremely resourceful person who managed to live in various parts of the world on a very tight budget.  She loved the ocean, beaches, hot sunny weather, playing her guitar, the natural world, and of course painting.  I pray that at last she has found the peace and contentment that so eluded her in this life.

This is a photograph of Suki taken in the 1970’s at the height of her youth and beauty.  It is how I hope I will remember her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.