Kegs Kwikpics.

By Kegrow

The Caves.

Grey day. I decided to head off and search for a blip worthy of a B&W conversion. I found this little cleft in the cliff at The Caves beach, which is a short drive from home. There was a spring at the start of the cleft that fed into the ocean behind me. It was really dark and spooky in there, and appealed to my B&W sensibility. One could almost imagine something rising out of the little creek, something awful...
Well, I didn't get that but all of a sudden this Echidna (Spiny Anteater, kind of a Aussie version of the Hedgehog) emerged from the undergrowth on the left, spun around, and went back in and disappeared again. I don't know if it even saw me as I was just standing there fiddling with the camera. I took the shot as soon as I saw it, taking care not to try and spook it to much. Weird behaviour. We used to get them on our property in the NE of the state quite frequently but have never seen one down this way. At least it didn't stop and stare at me like yesterday's frog and roo's. I really would have freaked then :))
The Caves is an interesting location as it is the only active Dinosaur Dig in the state. There has been many bones and teeth collected from the intertidal rock platform that contains the fossilised remains off various Dinosaurs from the herbivore variety to meat eaters. The dig location is underwater approaching and at high tide, and exposed when the tide is lower. During the warmer months the dig becomes active again.
The conversion was done with Silver Efex Pro and a tiny bit of colour brought back into the creek itself.

Bigger version here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.