Kegs Kwikpics.

By Kegrow

Growing Old Together

It was a terrible day today - no chance of going out. Lots of rain, and a strong cold SW wind. So I had to think of doing something at home. We have a small item at home that has been begging for a photograph. I don't know if these guys are gnomes, dwarfes, trolls, or what. Not the latter I think, they are too nice and have been happily married longer than Kaye and I.
I bought this for Kaye and myself just before we were married over 25 years ago. The little dudes are made of latex and the years have caused some cracking in their "skin". They have always been with us, through all our moves, watching us and the girls from some niche on a shelf or the like somewhere in our living room. We are quite attached to them and strangely, we have never named them which seems a shame really.
I was agonising over whether I should include some other elements around them when photographing them, to try and add complexity to the composition. But once I lifted them up and let them see the photograph on the monitor they are very pleased with the result ;-)
I photographed them in the kitchen and closed the blinds on the windows behind them in order to help create a dark background. Tripod and long exposure. There were 2 light sources. The kitchen window to the left and slightly in front of them. And a large flashlight pointing in from the right and slightly forward of them. I blocked it up so that the light was shining in the desired direction and taped a tissue over the lens to diffuse the light. I like the result. It was great fun doing this photograph but I really missed my walk :))

Bigger version here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.