Midnight fruit

A rather frustrating day, one way and another. I took Alex to Orton Pit, where he was helping with a survey of larval great crested newts and then went on to the river with the dogs. Unfortunately I'd taken minimal camera equipment, and discovered that I'd forgotten to replace the SD card the previous evening - and my alternative was in my other camera bag.

I spent much of the rest of the day entering data while waiting for the arrival of the engineer who was due to service our boiler. Just after 4pm, when I was getting a bit worried, I received a phonecall to say that he wasn't going to make it, and that the appointment needed to be re-arranged. Just a bit irritating, though at least they had the courtesy to ring me...

In the evening I led a short training session on identification and survey of water plants which was the highlight of the day. I'd been trying to contact Pete all day, as I couldn't find a vital bit of equipment that I neede, but luckily Alex found it for me when he returned home, so all was well. I later found out that Pete had got his phone wet while surveying a gravel pit in berkshire, so there was a good explanation as to why he hadn't answered my texts and messages!

We had a very late meal and I then fell asleep. I only remembered that I hadn't got a blip at five minutes to midnight, and in desperation I snapped the fruit bowl, which at least is colourful and fairly healthy!

PS Clearly my estimation of time was wrong, and the Exif data says this was taken at two seconds after midnight! The text really relates to Tuesday the 21st, and the 22nd will now be lost in the mists of time...

PPS The Blipfoto boffins managed to put this back into the right day! Many thanks to them and to Pennybun for suggesting that I contact them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.