Macro-fibre...

After a very helpful intervention by the Blipfoto boffins, I'm finally able to post this macro of part of a goatsbeard seedhead. I just love the finely spun fibres that connect the parachute struts - such delicate natural structures.

This was taken at Castor Hanglands where I took the dogs for a walk this morning. Photography was a bit limited by the gusty wind, and my walk was limited by the erection of an electric fence right across the route I was using, meaning we had to backtrack and therefore missed the ponds that I was aiming for. But the revised route took me past a very local plant, cat-mint, that I'd never seen previously at the site, so that cheered me up.

The afternoon was occupied by our local wildlife group committee meeting, where we managed to plan all the walks and activities for next summer. There were roadworks near the meeeting venue, and when I returned to my car I found that my front tyre was covered with a thick layer of tar and grit, from having driven over a freshly laid stretch of road in a bid to avoid being crushed by a giant roller. Thankfully Pete managed to scrape most of it off and the tyre seems to be OK now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.