But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

White Rose.

A quiet day, we remembered some of the things that we’d forgotten to buy yesterday and decided that they could stay forgotten. We still get teased about an incident some years ago: we were waiting at the check-out when I realised I hadn’t put the duck in the trolley so rushed back to the meat counter to collect it and I distinctly remember walking back to the queue with the bird in my hand. A few hours later, a little after midnight on Christmas morning, I started preparing the food ready for dinner. Couldn’t find the duck; after searching everywhere for the darned thing I checked the bill – it was totally devoid of any mention of duck. I can’t remember how I resolved the problem but would surely have remembered if it had been a disaster. Equally, I’m sure we would have enjoyed duck; it is a favourite of ours.
 
What we have realised are missing are my prescription indigestion remedy and Merlin’s pain-killers. M. is on the canine equivalent of co-codamol so he can share mine provided I can work out the correct dose and I will have to avoid exercise after meals to keep my food under control.
 
While Mrs TD was decorating the tree, I went to the apiary to make sure that the beehives haven’t been blown over in the gales and are still watertight, but there was nothing untoward. I shall soon have to make up some candy to see them through the rest of the winter and early spring and make up some oxalic acid solution ready for their annual winter varroa treatment though I don’t want to use that until we have had a few weeks of continuously cold weather.
 
This evening I went to a social gathering of members of the trust; the host is an excellent chef and provided a first class buffet to take the edge off our appetites for tomorrow.
 
The blip is of an indoor rose purchased yesterday, I had visions of making it a hi-key picture but quickly realised that that is not part of my current skill set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.