A Jumble of Christingles

My knee wasn't up to walking this morning, so I drove to church coffee morning with Basil. Chairs were already set up for the three Christingle services in the afternoon.

The regulars at the coffee morning did not approve in any way, sort or form of how the Christingle services were to be run this year. In the past, children have filed to the front to receive their oranges encircled with a red ribbon. pierced with four sticks bearing sweets and containing a candle which is lit during the service.

The church is currently without a vicar. The curate, in association with the Children and Families' Worker, decided to try out an an interactive format this year. A Christingle kit containing orange, candle, sticks and sweets would be distributed to each of the children for them to decorate during the service. The idea had already been tried out at the cathedral. I guess the intent was that by assembling the Christingles themselves, the children would retain more of the ideas behind the Christingle.

At any rate, the regulars at coffee morning did not intend to assist directly.

I'm sure the church looked lovely with all the candles lit.

Personally, I'm a sucker for the Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols from King's College Cambridge on the radio. I listened while making my bread sauce and decorating my Christmas cake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.