Not what it used to be

Today's blip is a tray of tealight holders, which I photographed when my brother had gone home again after we had lunch together.

Christmas used to be my favourite time of the year and I enjoyed putting up the large tree and decorating it for Mum. It usually took up more than one day of looking at it from all sides to make certain that no two decorations were too close together, especially two identical ones, and that the lights were spread more or less evently over the entire tree.

Mum's passing two years ago in November changed all that. It is now my least favourite time of the year and if I could, I would ignore it altogether but unfortunately that is not possible because it's literally everywhere.

Neither the large tree, nor its decorations have been out of their box anymore and at this point it still feels like they never will be again. Last year, I managed to put up our much smaller tree up and decorate it but this year I just could not make the effort to do it. A considerable number of other decorations also used to be spread out around our home but barely a handful are on display now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.