A quiet moment.

It's been a busy few days, with an annoying head cold that seems to have unleashed itself now that the Christmas adrenaline is exhausted.
For the last 16 years, regardless of city or state, we have hosted a Left Overs feast on Boxing Day for friends. This time last year, I was excited to imagine an extra celebration to mark 20 years since David and I had arrived as back packers in Australia with the promise of one year's work. 20 years.
Instead, it has become another useless anniversary I have celebrate alone.

Yes, we had friends and families around. Yes, it was fun and great to see the kids growing up and playing music. Yes, I am glad my folks are here to help, but now that everyone has gone to bed, here I am, on a dark starlit balcony, enjoying a glass of fine malt whiskey and toasting my missing companion.
It isn't too bad, I guess, as things go, but I am learning how to be lonely in a crowd.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.