The Day After

Santa brought me these two wooden figures , and I'm wondering if he thought there was any relevance to His Lordship's and my situation. Certainly I have a rolling pin, but to my knowledge there is no such studded wooden cosh to hand in the Dower House. I'm sure his gift was just a bit of fun to sit beneath our photo taken 20 years ago and pretend that this is the outcome of all that time being together.*

Boxing Day is a day for eating up yesterday's left overs, making soup from the carcass of the turkey and wondering whether to risk frying up all the uneaten sprouts and potatoes.. The kitchen and dining room windows are steamed up preventing us from seeing the frequent sleet showers sweeping in from the west.
Boxing Day is also the day we entertain other relations braving the weather for a walk, and try to make inroads into the store of mince pies and cake. Today it was HL's brother and niece who were plied with goodies.

David and Luca have been requested to return later for a valedictory meal of left overs. They leave for Budapest early tomorrow morning having seen Edinburgh with its worst weather for months. I couldn't have arranged it better as a deterrent to their coming back to live in the UK again if I had tried.

*TwoGenerations in three photos

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.