Boxing Day 2017

I don’t want to see another sprout or pig in a blanket for a very long time. The second day of cooking and festivities and I’m done with it all.
Much as I like having family around, and I do, I really do, I just want a day to myself without any peeling and chopping or wondering if I’ve forgotten anything from the menu.
Yesterday I forgot all about the potatoes until the guests had gone, although the roast ones did make a proper timely appearance.
Apart from that we had a lovely time with David, Luca and Lucy with much over eating and in my case a wonderful surfeit of Bailey’s Irish Cream, but minus the Vodka.

It was a complete surprise to open the blinds this morning and discover a light covering of snow on the Meadows. When the sun rose, His Lordship and I attempted a quick walk round the environs before the arrival of our guest of the day. We found the pavements quite icy in places and cut short the ramble lest we fell and broke a leg or two. It’s only on the first night for actors in the theatre that ‘breaking a leg’ is considered a phrase worth hearing.

And so as I type, lunch as been cleared away in every sense, and although the fridge is still looking unhealthily full of left overs, it’s all becoming a bit more manageable .
Our guest, HL’s brother is having a post prandial 40 winks before his trip home to Perth. All we need to do now is gird our loins for Hogmanay next week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.