Bumps in the Road

By JimJ

Hit the road Jack

Knowing that my driving license was packed in a box 270 miles away, I had already checked with the rental company that it was possible to hire a van without one.

"No problem sir. We'll just speak to the DVLA in Swansea to confirm everything on the day. We do it all the time"

Brilliant, I thought. I could drive up to Edinburgh overnight, drop Nikki and the furniture off and be back in Lincoln in time for visiting hours at the hospital the next day.

It was only when I arrived this morning that I discovered it only applied to the new style license - not the archaic paper one that I have.

With Nikki set for a baby appointment tomorrow, it left us in a very tricky predicament. However, in an amazing act of kindness, my brother offered to hire the van on his license and do all the driving himself.

In times of trouble, family really comes together. Thanks Edward!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.