BJH

By BJH

I used to be a tree

I used to tower above the people who walked past me
Above the shrubs, the grass, the dogs that lifted their legs against me
Birds chose me as a resting and a nesting place
Then one day I was reduced to being a stump
I don't know why
Was I ill, or a danger to my environment?
Branches, twigs, leaves no longer grow out of me
No longer is there life within me
Instead there is life growing upon me now
Fungi, moss, wild flowers, ...
I used to be a tree


I almost had another butterfly to blip today. A Speckled Wood landed, I reached for the camera, zoomed in ... and the butterfly flew off before I could press the shutter button!

Normally I'm not very good with words but this tree stump at the park that I chose as today's blip instead rather inspired me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.