Veiled moon

Last night I was trying to take a shot of the moon and the clouds that I liked and I think I was rather successful with this one.

My spirits have been quite low today after receiving negative responses to several job applications. I also had a negative response to the interview I went to at the beginning of last week. I'd hoped that my walk with one of the dogs from the sanctuary would take my mind off it all but I did not even get to walk a dog this afternoon.

I was about to ride into the park on my way to the sanctuary when I saw how a dog was holding a smaller one locked between its jaws. I could tell from the bigger dog's lead that it was a dog from the sanctuary and decided to get off my bicycle and see if I could be of any help. The girl who was holding the bigger dog's lead confirmed that Zora was indeed a dog from the sanctuary when I sat down beside her and asked her.

A man who had stopped to offer assistance as well told me that he had not been able to make Zora release the small dog's head yet. It was probably a stupid thing to do but I couldn't just sit around doing nothing so I started to block Zora's nose with my left hand so she couldn't breathe through it anymore and grabbed her top jaw with my stronger right hand in an attempt to weaken her grip on the little dog's head. Not for a single moment did I feel afraid of Zora and after about a good half minute she finally let go. As soon as she did that, the man pulled the little dog out of her reach. To everyone's amazement it stood up not long after that and the man fetched a first aid kit from his car to bandage its head as well as possible.

While he was doing that, I helped an elderly lady who had been sitting on the ground all that time get back on her feet. From what I was told then I understood that, despite a request from the girl who had been walking Zora to keep their distance from the bench she was sitting on, this lady had let her little dog come too close. At one point the girl had not been able to pull Zora away far enough anymore and she'd been able to get hold of the little dog. The lady had fallen in the process.

The man had been speaking into his mobile phone when I stopped and shortly after the police arrived to take statements from the three of them. When everyone was free to go, the police walked the lady and the little dog who lived nearby to their home so a vet could be called. The girl was clearly too upset to walk Zora back alone so I locked my bicycle and offered to take the lead from her after telling her that I was used to walking stronger dogs from the sanctuary.

Hopefully tomorrow afternoon will be less eventful.


A big thank you to everyone for the comments and stars on yesterday's blip. They are very much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.