Davaar Island the Isle of Mull and Arran

... from Kildalloig Bay (or ... Large Rock with Large Ferry)

7.6C and bright with long sunny spells. Light SSW/SSE/S breeze.

After lunch Maeve and I went for the repeat of our usual morning walking route across the road and round to the park and the harbour and back along through town. The fishing boats were all tied up at the old quay with Viking Gripfisk there too. The MV Isle of Mull had turned and was bow in to the linkspan at the new quay with its bow door open.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I got my car and drove along to the car park by the Doirlinn near the 2 mile to Campbeltown milestone. From there I walked out Kilkerran road past the 69 mile marker on the Kintyre Way along past Davaar House then round Kildalloig Bay until I reached the 70 mile marker out towards New Orleans.

The tide was coming in but there was still plenty of foreshore. There were a few Cormorants in the water with one or two seals swimming about and two Herons on the rocks. Lots of Oystercatchers in the fields on the other side of the road.  and lots of birds were taking advantage.

When I was almost back to Davaar House I saw the MV Isle of Mull heading out through the channel. I grabbed a quick shot then walked back along a couple of hundred yards, picked a spot, and waited for her to come round the back of Davaar island and head across the open water. As I was waiting the Pilot Boat appeared at its usual top speed, heading back to the harbour. The sun was low but ideal for lighting up the side of the ferry I could see and Davaar island. You can see the hills of Arran as backdrop with Goatfell just to the right of Davaar.

Afternoon music ... Craig Charles on BBC Radio 2.

E-PL5 f/10 1/250 sec. ISO-200 36mm

Extra: The bigger picture ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.