earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

A Shadow Of Yesterday's Selves

Not speaking for myself, of course, too much alcohol was drunk and too much food was eaten yesterday. But I guess that's the whole point of Christmas, a day when over-indulgence is totally justified, if not actually mandatory. So we were a bit of a shadow of ourselves this Boxing Day. 

If I've not actually been racing the Chevin Chase, it's normally a day when I at least get out for a run or a decent cycle. I couldn't run this year and a bike ride was scuppered by the strength of the wind. It just wouldn't have been any fun. We did all get out for a short walk on the moor after lunch though. We stayed together for the first half but when we turned back into the wind it was every man for himself! We straggled back in ones and twos, desperate to get out of the wind and return some warmth to the body.

I made the boys watch "Frozen" with me in the afternoon, quite appropriate in the circumstances. I've been wanting to see this for ages, but just haven't managed to find it within myself to watch it on my own! Roam fell asleep and Forrest wasn't very forthcoming, but I totally loved it. Visually, it was the most spectacularly beautiful and inventive film I've seen in a long while. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.