Bargain

I have been making picture frames for some time but not commercially.  The results using the manual equipment are very good but it's quite a slow process to get absolutely right.

Last week we visited my brother who also makes frames and I was rather taken with the professional mitre guillotine that he had just bought.  The only problem is that they are really expensive (around £2000 new).  However when I got home I had a look on eBay and I successfully bid for one for a quarter of the new price.  The other benefit was that the seller was only 3 miles away as they weigh 90kg and are tricky to transport.  However the tank-like construction means that they are indestructible and a used one will work as well as a new one.

After a bit of a clean it really looks as good as new and really is a bargain.   It also came with 3 sets of blades (2 of which look unused).  A set of new blades normally retails for around £200.  It makes accurate fast cuts very easily.

I am sure I could sell this at a profit if I wanted to.

I am planning to start a small framing business in a few months and am taking some shots for a website of which this will be one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.