Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

Night Night Princess

This film, its characters, storyline and mythos entered my life when I was but seven years old. And since then it's been a gentle, steady companion, offering a sweet little avenue of escape, wonderment and adventure when the need has arisen. 

And more recently, with my own kids, it has come back into focus... allowing me to relive those first magical moments through their eyes. The sense of wonder at those grand ideas, and the incredible achievement for those same ideas to be realised in a pre-cgi time when everything was done 'longhand'.

Which is why today has been so so sad... to lose one of those wonderful actors, who brought those stories so brilliantly to life, and who so many of us regard as part of our childhood. A glorious human being who's talents transcended far beyond this series of films. A writer to be reckoned with and a wonderful wit who's every appearance would guarantee a spectacle to behold.

And on that note, I think it's worth noting she already wrote her own obituary. I don't know what what you've heard about what happened. But I have it on good authority that in fact she drowned in moonlight, strangled by her own bra.

Night Night Princess... 

C


(This mug was bought for me by my son for Christmas... seemed apt today. And yes.. those lightsabres actually extend when it's full of hot liquid. Fab n'est pas?!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.