Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Hiding

The mouse having been hiding behind the chair suddenly ran out towards the sofa as I was sitting laptop on my knee with half an eye on the telly last night and of course the more we tried to catch it the less it liked it! In fact, it was having none of it! Any rugby player would have been proud of me as I dived clutching a throw pinning it down. Got to say I was a bit wary then putting my hand in but like a rabbit out of a hat I produced a sweet little field mouse.

Also in hiding right at the back of a huge patch of nettles, brambles and thistles I caught a glimpse of this tiny 8mm long brilliant orange and black beetle. Tricky! Again I had to dive in!

He is a Corizus hyoscyami what the Dutch call a Cinnamon bug and is supposed to be found on the coast on light sandy soil. A beetle who was extremely lost I feel as we are nowhere near the coast or sandy soil. He has small black glasslike sections in the wings called windows and is very hairy which distinguishes him from other similar beetle types.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.