Green Dragon

Whizzing past me at a rate of knots this large dragon has so far eluded me in the garden, even doing a couple of circuits of the conservatory last week - till today!

Hot footing after it abandoning my butterflies I didn't have much hope of getting a capture as it was in hunting mode - seeming to like the confines of the hawthorn hedge patrolling the boundary. Hardly daring to check my camera settings in case I lost sight of it as it was so well camouflaged, I just hung in there till eventually it rested.

A quick ID in camera told me she was female, not having the blue abdominal spots. Sharpish but trying not to scare her I sneaked up and she flew off again...and again, nearly always going right to the top branches! Curiosity though got the better of her and she circled round about me and the dogs to check us out and have a good look. In the end and I was so thankful, she settled for a short time on the hawthorn, within range and hey presto ...... my window of opportunity!

I did feel a bit smug with myself after I finally got her in the lens. The beautiful colours and lacy wings never fail to enthral and impress me - I find them just fascinating subjects to photograph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.