Returning to Whence It Came

A lovely day and we went up to North Devon to visit my brother and sister in law and we went to the local pub for lunch. The scenes you see here are just over the road and the building is probably a little too far gone for dereliction shots. Cob is the building material used here and it generally consists of subsoil, water, straw and whatever else is lying around. Once the roof and any rendering has gone, it'll soon go back to where it came from. 

For me, the interesting thing is that I knew this place back when it was lived in. An old couple called Bill and Maude lived here and people would pick up their daily papers here. My brother had the local shop and on occasions I used to deliver their groceries. I'd sidle in with the box and Maude would be sitting in the corner doing the Times crossword.The table was piled with old newspapers, gradually getting more yellow as you got lower down. There were more piled up against the wallls and pretty much everywhere else you looked. That would have been 40 years ago and it's a few years now since they passed on. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.