CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Morning Glory flowers

I feel a bit better at last but have still had a quiet day. Early in the afternoon I went out to the garden and refilled the bird feeders again, There are a lot of hungry birds out there.

I brought my camera with the aim of sitting in the garden for a few minutes to see if any interesting bird antics occurred. But before I got there I saw that there were these three new Morning glory flowers today and I wanted to record them. 

I spotted this plant when its first two leaves emerged from the bare soil at the base of its parent early in the autumn. I had brought the parent plant indoors for its last flush of growth having purchased it as a tiny plant in the spring. I salvaged lots of seeds from it but hadn't noticed it had already self seeded in the same pot.

I transferred the baby to a new pot and now it has been flowering for about a month and is still growing. I normally keep it on my window sill in my study, where it gets good heat from the radiator and full sun from the south. But I brought it downstairs for Christmas. I'm hoping it will keep growing into next year and beyond, as I've realised that Morning Glory plants are perennials in warm climates. Here they are killed by the lack of light and heat. Here's hoping I can nurture them well as I love their short-lived but vivid little flowers.

When I did get to sit in the garden, I was surprised that it didn't feel too cold. I sat just a few yards from the feeders by the patio and watched countless small birds approach and sometimes eat.  Many of them were wary on seeing me and quickly veered away. The little Long-tailed tit which I have added to the 'Extra photos' was quite persistent and rather bold. I love to see them. The usual flock of Long-tailed tits was nowhere to be seen. The woodpecker flew near then away again and stayed high in the ash tree. Maybe tomorrow I can get a picture of it in flight again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.