LV21

Okay. I am going to lay out a little of the history of this boat but I'm sure that most of you have gone "Pink sky, red boat, BOOM!" and that'll do it.

LV21 was built in 1963 by Philip & Son at Sandquay, Dartmouth. As the last of the Trinity House light vessels she's on the Register of National Historic Ships. I suppose ships offer an even bigger problem than steam engines; it's great saying we'll save some but they take up rather too much space to simply leave them in a box in the attic. LV21 is just over 130 foot long (40 metres while we still have these foreign measurements). To get round the storage issues LV21 has been adapted as an arts and performance space and she's currently moored in the Thames at Gravesend. When she's not here she usually lives round the corner on the Medway.

This photo was actually (sort of) planned. I took Jemma home to Watford and took the camera with a view to trying to get sundown on the Thames on the way back. The boat is an added bonus - I didn't know she was here. The shot in the extras was taken with my phone and it's the Town Pier which is the oldest remaining cast iron pier in the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.