"Ears Like Errant Wings"

I went for a lovely walk at Amwell Nature Reserve this afternoon and found lots to photograph. Dancing midges, tweety birds from the James Hide, herons, cormorants and ducks in flight from the White Hide and beautiful rays through the trees. I got a nice pic of a shapely girl jogging, her swishing pony-tail catching the light.

I watched a woman haul herself to her feet from a bench and walk slowly and unsteadily using a stick. Her dog trotted a few metres ahead and kept stopping and looking back to see if its mistress was following. I found this very touching and it brought a lump to my throat. When I caught up with them I learnt that the dog, a German Shepherd cross, is called Abby. When I was talking to the woman I was overcome and broke down in tears. Her predicament, the devotion of Abby, the surrounding beauty, swirling mist and the wonderful winter sunshine glinting off the icy lake just got to me.

In the end I've decided to post a pic that I took fairly early this morning in the company of my devoted dog. A pair of backlit donkeys at the horse sanctuary. Their breath is condensing in the frosty air and steam is rising from the frosted gates heated by the sun.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.