JVM my life

By JulieVMac

Tubing down the Esopus

Everyone who comes to Phoenicia has to try out tubing - basically you sit in an inflatable rubber tube with a wooden seat attached, wade out to the centre of a fast flowing river and then jump in - just happens the river they recommend has class 2/3 rapids - so after signing the form that means the tube people are not liable should I die - off we go - I am not used to being in a river vessel that I have no control over, the tube goes where it wants to which normally means into the largest boulders and down the scariest part of the rapids - I only came out once but boy did it hurt thank god my backside took the blow against the rocks and not my head! Major adrenalin rush

Afternoon spent hiking around the Kaaterskill Falls, apparently taller than Nigara! This area is the home of Rip Van Winkle, brought to life by Washington Irvine, famous for Tales of the Alhambra - amazing how some people get around

Evening finished off in Phoenicia and we even got to see the local black bear hunting for food outside the ice cream parlour - another lovely day shame I have to go back to NYC and work tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.