Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The last day of the year

As the sun rises on the last day of the year, we look towards the new year to bring us all health and happiness and a year of good luck. The past year has had its usual ups and downs, but notably the ill health and consequent death of my mother has been the major sadness of the year. 

Today is also my 1460th blip birthday - four years ago I started a photographic journal that I thought would last 365 days - I never imagined I would still be here four years later, having met some wonderful people along the way and enjoying my photography more than ever.

I did not go skiing with the rest of the family today - my ears are quite sore and I suspect I may have a minor ear infection as a development from having a cold and the change in altitude here. I had a quiet morning at home and then Adam and Molly returned from skiing early and the three of us went for lunch at the ski hut over the road from our apartment. They make a delicious chicken salad with a parmesan dressing, its really good, and it was so pleasant sitting in the bright sunshine on their terrace. 

Tonight we are going to the same restaurant we have been to for the past 12 years to celebrate New Year. Dinner is stretched out until just before midnight when we leave and walk through the cold night air to the central area to watch the village fireworks. The Swiss do love their fireworks and it is always a spectacular display against the backdrop of the mountains.

I raise a glass to one and all (see extra) and wish you a very happy New Year, with much love and happiness throughout the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.