Times Of My Life

By CarolB

Goodbye 2016

Oh boy, it's been ages!  Don't know what happened to December, or to my Blips, but here I am at last, couldn't let the last day of the year go by un-blipped.
I always feel sorry when Hogmanay rolls  round.  It doesn't mean the start of a brand new year to me, but the end of the old one, and the death of Christmas, which I much prefer to New Year.  Still, this has been one bloody monumental year - I can't believe how much has changed, either for the best, the worst or the simply unbelievable.  So many people, icons of my youth mostly, gone for ever.  Lemmy started it, just before New Year last; then throughout the 12 months we said Goodbye to Glenn Frey, Bowie, Prince, Cohen, Wood, O'Herne, and even at the very last gasp 2016 was greedy, and took Fisher and Michael. 

I still can't believe that this year, this 'United Kingdom' apparently voted to leave Europe; nor that the States voted for a racist, bombastic, old white man to be their President. 

However, 2016 also brought me the greatest happiness of my life, as Gordon surprised me with a beautiful proposal in a place with great significance to us both.  11 weeks later  we were married, and it was a wonderful family occasion, where our nearest and dearest all got together, to eat, drink, mingle, drink whisky and dance, dance, dance.
We honeymooned in Sorrento, and shortly after I went off on holiday to Poland with my oldest friend to celebrate us both turning 60 this year. 

And tonight, I'm in my kitchen preparing vegetables and steak pie for tomorrow's dinner, listening to Dougie McLean, and Phil Cunningham's Christmas Carols album, drinking Jack Daniels and thinking of all my family as they go about their various celebrations in readiness for the New Year. 

And to you my Blipfriends; I wish each and every one a very Guid New Year, and health, wealth and happiness in abundance. May your roof never leak, your purse never empty, and Lang May Yer Lum Reek! 

Happy 2017 one and all!  Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.