Welcome 2017!

The story begins in the dying minutes of New Year's Eve 2016. I'd told my friend Sue that I dearly wanted to get some good shots of New Year fireworks.

'Oh,' she said, 'the neighbours always put on a good show. You could stand in the pub car park and see them.' So I hopped in the car and drove the empty stretch of motorway between Junctions 23 and 22. Could hardly believe my luck that the pub car park was empty, and set up my tripod next to the car.

The first rocket went up on the stroke of midnight to the revellers' cheers. 

I managed several shots but was frustrated by the tripod head which wouldn't tilt back much. I sat on the car park barrier and held the tripod! But the rain hadn't reached us yet and the temperature was acceptable. All over within ten minutes.

This is a collage of three photographs.

As for the rest of the day, Len and Basil and I are looking forward to entertaining Kat and George for late lunch followed by more rounds of Uno!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.