Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

Sex'n slugs'n rock and roll!

This is a backblip for yesterday as I was too tired to do this last night. I found this huge slug in our veg patch last night, among our courgettes. It is (I think) a Large Red Slug (scientific name Arion ater). These can grow up to 12cm in length and this one was well on the way to that size! Why did I use the word "Sex" in the title? Well, there are so many slugs around just now that there has clearly been molluscan hanky-panky under way. As for "rock and roll", this species of slug, when alarmed, shrinks into a tight ball and rocks gently from side to side. It really is the most endearing trait and is precisely what this one was doing when I took this photo. I removed it a safe distance from my veg patch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.