Lucaz

By Lucaz

MY HOME-MADE GRANARY LOAF

The bread mixes for the bread machines either collapse in the middle, appear misshapen and wrinkle with old age before they've even cooled down, or look like ski slopes. Then, there are others that rise phenomenally, probably because they've been doctored with something like Phyllosan energy medication for the over forties. However, the dough will rise, sometimes though, nudging up to the machine lid.

I had one machine that I could rely on to turn out a good loaf, whatever recipe I used. I created lots of different breads then. One winter day, not having used it for some weeks, I fancied making some bread at home, put everything in the pan, switched on, and the machine's computer panel died. It was, I was told, uneconomic to replace it. A machine about two years old ! The replacement designs were not a patch on the other machine, so I went through a process of selection till I plumped on the one I now have.

Having become fed up with the outcome of ready mix packets of bread, I have returned to buying the flours I want for making up my own. This granary loaf, is the result of it. The smell of freshly cooked bread is gorgeous and this loaf will be yummy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.