Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

A quiet New Year's Day

So much for a First Day Hike..it started raining in the middle of the night and has not stopped.   I did venture out for a walk around the yard as I knew there would be water drops.  I found this one on the oak tree with leaves that are still holding on..when they are wet they do have a more reddish orange color, when they are dry they are just brown.  

 Here in the south, on New Years Day we have a meal of ham or pork chops (ham leftover from Christmas works really good for me),  black eyed peas and collard or mustard greens..the greens for wealth, the peas for prosperity.  But it really doesn't matter to us..we love this kind of food  any time of the year (except I don't eat the greens..too much Northern girl in my blood as I am originally from Pennsylvania).  

The best thing about rainy New Years day at our house is the quiet.  Perfect for reading or a quick nap on the couch.

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.