A Winter Skyline

It's always felt important to me to start the new year well. After a couple of difficult days I was determined to get out on the bike, but the forecast of 4 deg temperatures and a fresh northerly was a little daunting. The sound of the wind and rain at the window first thing didn't help either. I was very late to get going after what had been a very late night skyping with friends and family. 

I was running a bit tight on time when disaster struck. It was 3pm and I was 12 miles from home when I punctured my rear tyre, a proper blowout. I had everything I needed to fix it - except working fingers. They were almost completely numb from one too many stops for photography as the afternoon light had become quite beautiful. It had all the makings of the worse possible start to the new year. As I struggled away, frustration, desperation and adrenaline finally combined to send some warmth into my hands and I managed to sort it out. It was like a test. And I passed. Pheew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.