Battambang

My friends left this morning to get their flight home. An hour later I left to get a bus. It was a minibus and with all the luggage stuffed under the seats it was a bit squashed. But the journey was quite fast and I arrived in Battambang about 2.30pm. That gave me plenty of time to find and book a bus ticket to the border for tomorrow and then have a wander round the town.

It has a river running through it but compared to Phnom Penh with it’s wide, powerful river, this one isn’t impressive. The town is easy to navigate though and I found this temple. The evening light was glinting off the roof but you can’t see it very well in the photo. There’s a night market along the river in the evening. Food stalls and stalls selling all kinds of household goods including mattresses. It was busy with locals shopping and eating and strolling around.


I finished the day by falling flat on my face! The street lighting isn’t good here and I tripped over and went flying. It was probably quite spectacular to see although I was on my way back to the guest house, the street was quiet and there weren’t any witnesses. I have grazes on my hands, knees and one shoulder and I expect I’ll have some interesting coloured bruises by tomorrow! Oh well, that’ll teach me to pay more attention in badly lit streets. At least there wasn’t an open sewer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.