Long day

I left my hotel in Battanbang at 7.30 this morning and arrived at my hostel in Bangkok at 8pm. What I thought was one bus from Battanbang to the border was actually 3 buses. Getting out of Cambodia was easy, there was only one person ahead of me in the queue. So I don't understand where the hundreds ahead of me in the queue to get into Thailand had come from!

It was an hour and a half wait in a swealtering room while 4 staff slowly processed each person. By the time I'd waited, then found a bank to change money and got a tuk tuk to the station, I was getting worried I might miss the train. There's only one train in the afternoon so missing it would have meant having to find a plan B. I got there with 10 minutes to spare. The train was 3rd class only which meant hard seats, hard back rests and a couple of fans blowing warm air around. The train was nearly full when I got on. It stopped at every tiny station between the border and Bangkok, some didn't look like more than fields. By the time we had stopped at the first station people were standing and it got busier. 

After an uncomfortable 6 hours I arrived, tired, hot and very hungry. This was a phone shot from the train. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.