New Year's Day II (too)

Apparently today is also New Year's Day even though the evening was celebrated by all and sundry on Saturday giving them plenty of time to recover on Sunday the powers that be have also tacked on an extra day. Not that I'm complaining as our shop wasn't open today so that's two weeks off, not like it's real work, it's enjoyable and you don't get paid, what's not to like?

So bank holiday or not Mono Monday this week hosted by Marlieske is still running and has a theme of New Years' Resolutions (MM154).

Now I don't make resolutions, either at the start of the year or anytime through it. I'm quite happy ticking along with the life I lead, and who I share it with, and listening to any suggestions Ann may have during the year that are not too demanding.

But this year I think I will make just one resolution, that is to drink MORE rum. I appear to have accumulated an inordinate supply of the dark nectar over the last year or so and I really ought to try and shift some of it. I used to drink more when we didn't go out regularly for coffee, enjoying an occasional tot with my morning coffee at home. I've donated at least one bottle to good causes and I did have a couple of glasses over the festive period (I even had a medicinal tot when we went out for a meal during the period of my dreaded lurgy).

Nobody else in the family likes rum and visitors invariably arrive by car so cannot drink. So I have no option than to force myself to have a little more, obviously in moderation, possibly a glass whilst watching mindless cultural TV in the evening.

Hmm that sound like a plan :-)

ps the sample bottles in the picture have been sampled. Andrew is one member of the family who is a rum connoisseur and he helped me test them on his stay in 2015.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.