Street Party

Stratford was throwing a 'street party' in Henley Street this evening to kick off the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare's death celebrations this year. Not normally the thing you'd hold a party for, unless it was a wake, but then I guess any reason is good enough for Stratford especially as it will bring the tourists, and their money, into the town.

There was a new light show at the birthplace to replace the previous Christmas show and although street entertainment, food stalls, live music was advertised I guess the rain kept most of them away. There was this one food stall selling baked potatoes and amongst the pictures I took on the street this one gave me a 'Brief Encounter' moment. I guess it's just me but this lady looks like she came straight out of a 1940's movie.

On the way home we went into the Alehouse on Greenhill Street for a pint of the North Cotswold's Brewery best, and a diet coke. The place was quite busy, it's good to see that it's doing well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.