A Robin is not just for Christmas

A combination of family and colds has meant that we have done surprisingly little walking this Christmas and New Year break.

But we managed a morning out today. Cold but very sunny - perfect. Home for lunch - my cold still has a way to go, and J has caught it).

I am not one for new year resolutions, as I am always fearful of not keeping them. But for starters perhaps I will:

* try and improve my photography (the new lens on my little camera makes a surprising difference, and is an incentive to go beyond the auto setting)
* try and do more walking (today is at least a start)
* do more birdwatching than I managed last year (which was very little)
* read a novel or two (I've started Anne Cleeves "Cold Earth" today)

Of course this may all get blown apart as the working week begins from tomorrow. But hopefully not.

As we walked along the River Weaver we came to an old apple tree still laden with (rotting) fruit. This robin was having a good feed. They are quite bold little birds, which - unusually - hold territories in winter. Which is why they are one of the very few birds singing at this time of year. It would be nice to think they sing for enjoyment. But it's more likely they are telling other robins to keep their distance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.