The Hornet's nest!

I went for a little wander round the local (Hill's) cemetery this morning, which was wonderful, it was cold, but bright and sunny and so much better than yesterday's torrential rain. 
I have decided as a project through 2017 I will bring a shot from this wonderful place at least once every month, as it really is very beautiful and full of wildlife. 
As I was walking round I could hear a woodpecker drumming, and a little bird singing.....spring is coming I can feel it! Anyway, I found the remains of what I thought was a wasp nest under an old hollow tree, but on closer inspection I realized it was the remains of a Hornet's nest, now sadly dead and finished :-(  I love the way a ladybird has taken up residence hiding in one of the cells, Further inspection revealed a very dead hornet, I think I may have had a bit of a panic attack if I had realized it was there earlier in the year!
Update on yesterday's shot, I have been told Cronos is actually spelt Kronos oops!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.