Our busy wee town

I went down town today, and was astounded at the amount of traffic was either driving through Murchison or parked up.  I couldn't find a car park!   With State Highway 1 out due to the Kaikoura earthquake on the 14th November, the road through Murchison is now the only road from the East Coast through to Christchurch.  I knew the road was busy, but this was ridiculous!

The cafes and other businesses in our wee town have been run off their feet trying their very best to keep up serving everyone.  I really feel for them.

The wet weather we awoke to this morning didn't help the road conditions, in fact the fire siren went twice today, indicating a road accident.  It's horrible listening to the siren going off, as you know that there has (usually) been a nasty accident.

With the Kaikoura road out of action for quite a while, we have to get use to the amount of traffic on our road.  It makes me pleased that I don't actually live on the main road!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.