Got a little fishy

I spent the morning trying to sort various papers and stuff, as the weather was bleak. Cool, windy and grey skies. All that changed mid afternoon. Although the wind has remained reminiscent of Wellington, the sun has shone and the temperature risen. The tide seemed right for finding waders down at Southend of Snells Beach. The waders didn't agree, and other than a few oystercatchers and the ubiquitous herons, the birds I saw were as much land birds as sea birds.

My blip today was chosen for the interaction between parent and young bird. I had watched the younger bird circling and tried for a clear shot. The parent I had noticed skimming above the water, and paid it no attention. It suddenly came up, they met despite the buffeting winds and then flew away together. It was only when I looked at the photo on the computer that I saw the fish in the parent's beak.

The first extra for today is a reward for patience and persistence. Having noticed some days ago that a swallow pair have nested in a culvert, i have hoped to see some signs of their activity; which I have done. But never when I have had the camera set right. Today I missed one parent coming out, and then missed one going in. Stayed still with the camera focussed and pointed, until a blur stimulated the shutter press. 

The second extra shows four of a larger group of mynahs which were spending time on the mudflats as if they were waders.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.