Tiny Tuesday - Ants

This is my orchid cactus (epiphyllum strictum) which has many buds at the moment, more than I've ever seen before!!

Even though I think they're a way off from blooming I'm keeping my eye on them as the flower only lasts for a few hours after opening (usually in the early morning).

Today I noticed the ants had started to tend to them sucking up the nectar that they start to release when getting close to opening. Because the hot wind was blowing it was difficult to get a clear shot of the ants and this one was the only one out of quite a few!! So frustrating!!

We had a horrendous day of 41c and will be having the same tomorrow ugh!! We hunkered down inside with the air con blasting and it wasn't too bad except when a little dog had to keep going outside for, no, obvious, reason!! :o))

Thanks to Paladian for hosting! :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.