Shakespeare window, Manchester Central Library

We packed in as much fun as possible on the last day of our holiday. Immediately after breakfast we played Catan (I won). Then Clarissa, Mr hazelh and I set off on a mission that was sparked by fellow blipper Knottman2.

The background to this is that on 7th December 2016 Knottman2 blipped a bust of Sir John Barbirolli, and mentioned the conductor's role in the Halle orchestra. I commented that my grandfather-in-law played for the Halle. I wanted to supply a link to reference my comment, but couldn't find anything online specific to this. However, while searching Mr hazelh and I came across a reference to a film of the Halle's 1968 tour of South America held on DVD in the archives of Manchester Central Library. We knew that Mr hazelh's grandfather went on this tour so our mission today was to watch the film and see if we could spot him in the footage. Unfortunately we could not, but watching the film gave us a sense of the orchestra's activities on the tour.

After our trip to the library we had coffee (or hot chocolate in my case) at Albert's Schloss, then Clarissa dropped us off at the railway station for our journey back to Edinburgh. We watched The lady in the van on the train. What a wonderful film, so enjoyable on many levels - and just my kind of thing :-)

Back home again it's a quiet evening in for us and a chance to watch the episode of Sherlock that we missed in Manchester on New Year's Day.

My blip is of the Shakespeare stained glass window in Manchester Central Library - a beautiful building all round ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.