Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Music corner - & introducing a new member

Resisting the urge to post something yesterday I've managed to browse your journals more or less up to date, comment when appropriate and respond to the kind comments on mine.

Before getting to the 'music corner', I want to introduce a new member, TheBantam; I'm sure you'll want to welcome him to blipfoto (his first blip is a super shot of the new moon). He's also the newest member of our writers' club, joining in time to take part in our pre-Christmas performance, 'Winter Tales' in Ilkley library, demonstrating his great children's-story-telling, and writing, skills with 'Winter Tail'.

I mentioned on New Year's Day that the tv sits in the 'music corner' so thought I'd blip more of it, especially as I've heard that vinyl is now outselling CDs!

The guitar, Romanian panpipes - naiuri (tourist version on the right, musicians' on the left) - and harmonica are Petronela's. Piano and ukulele (must get back into it; I haven't played it since part of a skiffle group 60 (!!) years ago) are mine.

No prizes for spotting my favourite composer - complete works below, on vinyl, bookended by a few operas and two KEF speakers below the keyboard. Lenco L78 turntable and Cambridge Audio amplier to the right. I'm not completely stuck in the past; there are a lot of CDs out of shot to the left and a player/recorder under the amplifier.

I assure you that I don't get past the first movement of the manuscript up on the piano and then only prompted by P; she forgives my crap playing. If I made New Year resolutions it would be to take up daily practice on 'my' two instruments, but I don't so I won't, though I might try to play them a bit more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.