Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Better sol'n for my future blipping & new blipper

I don't know why I didn't think of it before but I've thought of a possible better solution for my blipping future than ditching the digital camera completely.

But before getting to that, I want to introduce you to another new blipper, again from the village in which I live. I worked with Helen several years ago in an organisation promoting the role of women in science and technology (of course tackling gender discrimination is one of my hobby horses and the fact that it doesn't seem to exist in the Blipfoto community is one of the many reasons I like it so much). It was a great job, not only because I was one of only 3 men in a staff of 42 in one big open plan office, but also because I got to phone women like Maggie Aderin (she's now added -Pocock to that) to tell them they had been selected as a 'Woman of Outstanding Achievement' and meet her, and even have another, a pioneer of strawbale building in the UK, Barbara Jones, selected after I nominated her. You'll no doubt pop over and say welcome to helenc1.

Back to my blipping solution. I had intended to sell my Fuji X-Pro 1 together with it's two 'digital' lenses but whereas the lenses can together fetch quite a lot of money (£400-500) the body, excellent though it is, wouldn't get very much. The 35mm Fuji is an astounding lens, certainly the best digital lens I know of, and the 18mm is an ideal street photography lens. However, because I much prefer to use lenses in manual mode but do not like the 'fly by wire', especially for focussing, I can use my 'legacy' Contax Zeiss/Yashica lenses or, as used so effectively by Dollykgray for macro, the Olympus OMs on the Fuji.

This shot of the Fujinons, in a hurry as I and P both have hospital appointments today so not perfect focus but I want to get this blipped, is with a Yashica 35mm f/2.8 macro on the X-Pro 1.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.