Still Smiling

Today I have visited my mum who is in hospital. She has been there since just before Christmas and now needs to leave. There is nothing that can be done medically to help her. Mum is almost 90, can barely walk now, has poor vision and hearing but is still smiling!

When she was admitted to hospital she had a raging infection and we really thought our Christmas was not going to be a happy one. BUT she is tough (I think I get my tenacity and stubbornness from my mother) and, within hours of antibiotics, was sitting up in bed eating her lunch! Now she is ready to leave hospital.

The reality is she is now no longer able to live on her own. She wanted her independence and we have all supported her in this; now she needs to feel safe and have some company so we are exploring other options. My brother has contacted an excellent local care home who can take her although she needs local government funding for sustaining the high cost. We are optimistic, although the social worker I met today did nothing to enhance that profession in my opinion. It's a shame, as I'm sure they are all caring people (why else would you do that job?) but this lady's inability to take any part in the final decision was frustrating; l had to used all my self control to not come to blows!  Mum has both me and my brother to fight her corner... how do others manage I wonder?

Both my daughters love their Nana, and gave up a day of their precious time to come with me. Both have full time successful careers and families but remember the many times they had fun with their grandparents. Although not the best of backgrounds, this will be a lovely memory of today. I hope there will be many more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.