Return of a Favourite

Early spring this thrush set up his territory in my garden. I think he was just starting out as an adult. At first his song consisted of a single strident note, sang three times in groups of three. He kept it up all day and nearly drove me crazy. But then he added a little twiddle to the three notes, then another. After a few weeks his song was rich and varied, but always beginning with those three notes. I would stop and listen to him with pleasure.

Then one day there was a new thrush marking his territory, including my garden. He was fine and confident, but I missed the first one. It was much later when I heard the three notes way in the distance. He had a new territory.

This morning I heard the well remembered song close above my head. To my delight he has been singing here most of the day.

I couldn’t believe how cold it was last night. I regretted having changed to my summer duvet on New Year’s  day (two months later than usual). I woke up in the night feeling very uncomfortable, the added mohair blanket not enough. None of my other spare blankets were within reach so I toughed it out. When I got up at 6.30, well after sunrise, the outdoor air temperature was below 2ºC. My car was crusty with ice. The day has been beautiful, all day blue sky and sunshine, but with a chilly wind. Great for working outside. My son and I achieved a lot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.